RSS

BETT BATTT & TMBETT2013

03 Feb

I attended my first BETT show on Friday and saw so much, it was great to see such passion and enthusiasm for education. Sure, there were stalls trying to sell me bespoke furniture or showing me new and expensive ways of using old and dusty stuff, but, that aside, there was more than enough to enthuse and captivate me.

On the day, my mini-highlight was seeing @ICTevangelist and @ICTmagic facing off to show us a collection of brilliant sites to use. Some of them will be used by my children in the very near future – that, I am certain of.

As good as BETT is, for me the real buzz and learning took place in the evening. As 300 educators piled into the Platinum suite for an evening of presentations, laughs and networking.

The many talks were great, I soon lost track of how many people I needed/wanted to thank, talk to and my notes soon got blurred into a digital pad of ‘to-dos’.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first presentation with @mrlockyer and enjoyed the thrill of amusing people and giving a push to our new venture: battt (bring a teacher to twitter).

If you’ve not seen the site yet, check it here.

One of the strangest things, especially for a BETT newbie, is to meet with people I’ve been tweeting about and to for so long. There is that bizarre feeling of recognition and companionship with people I’d never actually met (well, a few).

For those of you, that I’d met and chatted to, I thank you. You made my first BETT memorable indeed.

I am excited to go and implement some of the things I have seen and to continue tweeting with you.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2013 in BATTTUK, Social, Thoughts & Musings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “BETT BATTT & TMBETT2013

  1. Dughall McCormick

    February 3, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    You and Stephen were the best possible way to kick off the teachmeet! So entertaining! Don’t think we actually F2Fed did we? Next time!

     
    • *vv@[d®@m*

      February 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm

      No, we didn’t. Lots of people I missed out on speaking to. Next time indeed.

       
  2. Bryn Llewellyn

    February 3, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    A great read.
    Based on your performance with @mrlockyer I assumed you were anything but a Newbie.
    My own take on BETT can be viewed on http://brynllewellyn.wordpress.com
    This time next year we may well be posting about #TMBETTArena14

     
    • *vv@[d®@m*

      February 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm

      Excellent stuff. That’d be amazing!

       

Leave a Reply

 
