RSS

#C2C – the battle of man v bike.

16 Feb

… or rather, man and bike. I have no intention of going to war my trusty steed – it has to support my rotund buttocks for 140 miles.

So, the story. My good friend (and team leader) Nigel cycled the width of the country last year and had been encouraging (pestering) us to join him the following year. I was up for it, to be honest. I love a challenge – I have been known to make some rather bold and ridiculous ones during the last couple of decades: walking Lands End to John O’Groats, climbing to Base Camp and a personal favourite: Rowing to France in a two-man boat. This, however, I could do.

We leave in 8 weeks!

I’ll be honest (again) I have been monumentally busy at work (a different blog post or two) and being a #distressedad is never conducive to bizarre, macho challenges, so when the date was agreed, I thought I had ages to prep.

We leave in 8 weeks!

I mean, I’ve ridden before, you know to the park and back with the boys. Sometimes even with a bag of papers on my back but this was different. It seemed…bigger.

We are to ride the 140 miles or so over three days: day 1 – 60, day 2 – 40 (mostly uphill) and day 3 – 40. I am looking forward to it very much, the idea of pushing myself physically is not something I’ve done for a while and I am relishing the chance to train and to spend time with Team Wheezy Riders.

We are: Rhys Morris, Matt Waldram, Andy Barker, Paul Doyle, Steve Baxter and Team Leader: Nigel Woodings.

There is another reason for cycling: I believe that if I am doing this, then someone should benefit from it. I have worked with Derby Kids’ Camp for a number of years and think the work they do is brilliant. Take a look at their website for more information. You can sponsor me in a number of ways, probably the easiest is via a text.

Text WBEN75 and your amount to 70070 – just a couple of pounds is all it takes to make a difference. Site HERE

Thanks.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 16, 2014 in Family, Thoughts & Musings

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “#C2C – the battle of man v bike.

Leave a Reply

 
